The creators of the Russian FaceApp now own all user’s old photos and may used them against you

Have you installed and gives the FaceApp permission, another word, access to your picture library on your phone? Be worried because according to reports from the New York Post, ”Russians now own all your old photos”.

In the report, it states the now popular app created back in 2017 by Russian developers may now have access you to your privacy and security settings when it comes to your financial accessibility.

As technology takes over lives, in the future, people will depend on face recognition features to access many restricted accounts such as banks accounts, social media and other sources where it can be used to defraud the app users of their finance and privacy.

This is what the FaceApp makers had to say regarding newest allegations of the popular app;

We are receiving a lot of inquiries regarding our privacy policy and therefore, would like to provide a few points that explain the basics:
1. FaceApp performs most of the photo processing in the cloud. We only upload a photo selected by a user for editing. We never transfer any other images from the phone to the cloud.
2. We might store an uploaded photo in the cloud. The main reason for that is performance and traffic: we want to make sure that the user doesn’t upload the photo repeatedly for every edit operation. Most images are deleted from our servers within 48 hours from the upload date.
3. We accept requests from users for removing all their data from our servers. Our support team is currently overloaded, but these requests have our priority. For the fastest processing, we recommend sending the requests from the FaceApp mobile app using “Settings->Support->Report a bug” with the word “privacy” in the subject line. We are working on the better UI for that.
4. All FaceApp features are available without logging in, and you can log in only from the settings screen. As a result, 99% of users don’t log in; therefore, we don’t have access to any data that could identify a person.
5. We don’t sell or share any user data with any third parties.
6. Even though the core R&D team is located in Russia, the user data is not transferred to Russia.
Additionally, we’d like to comment on one of the most common concerns: all pictures from the gallery are uploaded to our servers after a user grants access to the photos (for example, https://twitter.com/
joshuanozzi/status/1150961777548701696
).  We don’t do that. We upload only a photo selected for editing. You can quickly check this with any of network sniffing tools available on the internet.

So before you give your personal or private images away, be aware of the consequences of giving access to your privacy. Follow Wap Konn Joj Anko on Facebook for viral videos.

Comments

comments

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement